Gaucho Steak with Chimichurri Sauce and Chocotarte

I once again do not have pictures of this meal but I have a pretty good excuse: we had company and I was too busy enjoying them and the food to remember to take pictures. Also, booze. So much booze. Like three bottles of wine and two six packs of beer. It was worth it!

The day started out not so awesome. My plan was to make gaucho steak, marinated eggplant, roasted potatoes, and chocotarte for desert. As I was prepping the eggplant, I read the last sentence “Let marinate for at least two days in the refrigerator for best results.” People always ask what I learned from the project. Well, this was week forty something and I still hadn’t learned how to read the entire recipe! So the marinated eggplant turned into roasted eggplant. Then something else happened with the potatoes but I don’t remember what…I ended up scrapping that recipe and making Raviv’s Potatoes. Raviv was our neighbor in Houston and he would always make these awesome roasted potatoes for barbecues. It’s a super simple recipe: make a spice mixture of cumin, paprika, cayenne pepper, and S&P, dice potatoes, toss in oil and spice mixture, bake in the oven at 350 for forty minutes. At this point I was irritated with myself and the clock was ticking!

Another setback was the steak prep. I had planned on grilling the steak outdoors but then it decided to be really cold and rainy that night so I had to improvise and use the broiler in our oven. The problem with that was I didn’t have a baking sheet wide enough to fit all two and half pounds of flank steak so I had to divy it up onto two pans and then rotate the pans every few minutes so the meat would get the direct heat from the broiler. It wouldn’t have been so bad had we not already had our guests and their four kids over. Trying to talk to people and going back and forth from the kitchen is not fun.

But anyway, we finally got the kids down, gave them pizza, and then sat down ourselves to enjoy our dinner. It was good but it was meh. The thing was I’d had my roasted eggplant and Raviv’s potatoes before so there was nothing surprising there. The steak was decent but a little boring. I don’t think the chili water made all that big of a difference in the flavor. Everyone else said it was great but I was unimpressed.

What did impress me, however, was the chocotarte. I had made it earlier in the day and was a little skeptical about it. I had to soak chocolate wafers in milk and then make layers of wafers and a mixture of cream cheese and carmelized milk. I was just worried it was going to be really thin because wafers are thin. Well I guess that milk really worked its magic because those things puffed up! It ended up having the consistency of a cake; yeah, it was that puffy! I loved it and I typically don’t like caramel but I think the cream cheese dulled the sweetness and made it just a little tart.

That was the end of Argentine week. The food wasn’t that great but the company more than made up for it. Now that I think about it, I’ll have to have those friends over again and make them a better meal. I think they were just being kind.

Recipe, Recipe

Leave a Reply

