Tonkatsu

This was the start of Japanese week! I only made two meals during Japanese week because the second meal I made was ramen, which took three days to make. That difficult meal was offset by this really easy one!

Tonkatsu is breaded and fried pork chop. That’s it, pretty easy. It’s one of the most beloved meals in Japan and there are different ways to eat it other than the way I prepared it. You can also eat it as a sandwich or atop rice and curry but I wanted something easy so I went with this. It’s a little odd that this dish is so popular that there are restaurants devoted to making it but then I read this and I understood it a little more.

I chose a cucumber salad to go with the tonkatsu instead of the traditional cabbage because cabbage gives me gas. Sorry if that’s gross but it’s life. I had a little situation with the cucumber because the recipe said to break it up by banging it against the counter top. I guess I had some aggression I needed to get out because I hit the bag so hard against the counter, it busted open. Thankfully most of cucumber stayed in the bag and I didn’t have a huge clean up.

It was a nice meal, nothing too exciting. I forgot to make the sauce that accompanies it but I used some hoisin instead. The meat was a little dry but the sauce helped. The cucumber salad was fantastic and I’ll make that over and over again next summer. Everyone liked dinner that night and I think the four year old even ate some cucumber.

Two days later, I took on ramen making. Fyi, it’s going to be a long post. Be prepared.

Recipe, Recipe

Leave a Reply

