Poffertjes

Like I mentioned in my last post, this was supposed to be our second Dutch meal but because of bad planning, it ended up being our last. I’m going to go ahead and get this out of the way and admit this was a total failure.

I knew this recipe was going to be problematic because one of the ingredients was yeast. Yeast and I have a love/hate relationship. I have about a 60% success rate when baking with yeast and while 60% is pretty good, it’s not good enough. Most of my success in baking with yeast happens when I’m baking bread because I’ve baked enough bread to know how to do it fairly well. I also have my tried and true bread recipes so I’m sure that helps as well. My failures arise when I leave bread making and venture out. Maybe it’s my lack of confidence, maybe it’s my impatience, maybe it’s a combination of both, whatever it is, it doesn’t work.

Poffertjes are puffy mini-Dutch pancakes. There’s a specific pan used to make them that ensures they come out round and puffy but I read on various sites that the pan wasn’t necessary. Using a regular pan meant I wouldn’t get the full, round, puffy shape but I’d get pretty close so I went forth. I knew they wouldn’t be perfect so I was already prepared for them to not match pictures but I didn’t expect what I got.

I don’t know exactly what happened but I’m blaming it on the yeast. I had to heat up the milk to just a little hotter than lukewarm and then dissolve the yeast in it until it got foamy, about 5 to 10 minutes. At the 10 minute mark it was bubbly but not foamy, so I heated up some more milk and tried again. The second attempt was better than the first so I went ahead and used that mixture to make the batter. The batter had to sit for an hour until it doubled in size but after an hour, my batter hadn’t increased too much in size. At that point I didn’t care and just started making pancakes.

Obviously mine were not puffy. They were flat, And too chewy, And I ended up eating a sandwich.

I think maybe I didn’t let my yeast warm up to room temperature or maybe the milk was too hot. Whatever it was, it didn’t work. And this is why I hate working with yeast; she is so moody!

James and the girls ate them because they’re nice (mostly they were hungry) and James said they were good but I think he was just trying to keep me from getting too upset. I was really frustrated because I couldn’t figure out exactly what happened. I like to know what I did wrong so I won’t repeat it but in this case, I won’t ever know. Which is fine, I don’t plan on making poffertjes ever again.

Recipe

Leave a Reply

