Daeji Kalbi, Gamja Saelleodeu, and Pajeon

This will be a short post and not because I didn’t love this meal but I’m a little grumpy right now. I went out for my afternoon run and I tripped and fell because the sidewalks in our neighborhood are atrocious. I was almost done with my run anyway and took it as a sign that the universe was telling me to go home BUT that’s not the point. Or points. There are two points.

1. Get it together City of Austin! Sidewalk repairs are the city’s business and if this is how they work, maybe they should just close up shop and put up an “Out of business” sign on their door because they are clearly not doing their job. Talking to neighbors it seems that the sidewalk repair department (I don’t know the real name but that’s what I’m calling it) is made up of five employees. FIVE people for all of Austin. Sidewalk repair department: I’m a stay at home mom and have a few free hours a week. Employ me. I’m pretty sure I can figure out how to pour concrete. Our property taxes went up by 10% this year and our limited district is proposing another increase in fees but for what? So people can trip and fall on their sidewalks or so people can have their strollers almost tip over (with children in the stroller!) every time they hit one of the cracked or the uneven spots?

2. Four cars passed me and not a single person slowed down and asked if I was okay. I fell in a school zone, they were already going 20 mph, would it have killed them to stop?! I mean, I just have a scraped knee and was less than half a mile from home but they didn’t know that! This is what people mean when they refer the Californication of Austin, no one cares about their neighbors anymore.

Rant over.

Maybe the memory of this meal will put me in a better mood. The ribs were super yum and not as spicy as they should have been, probably because I only used half a cup of gochujang instead of the full cup the recipe called for. The pajeon (scallion pancakes) were also delicious is not a little burned. I blame it on my cousin Robert. He was our dinner guest and I was too busy talking to him to pay attention to the pancakes. The gamja saelleodeu (potato salad) was hea-ven-ly! Not even joking. I consider myself a potato salad connoiseur and this was probably the best potato salad I’ve ever had. The apples, carrots, and corn added some crunch and just the right amount of sweetness to balance out the bitterness of the mayo. I loved it so much that it will now be my go to potato salad recipe. It changed my life, y’all.

Okay, talking about the potato salad lowered my blood pressure but I’m still shaking my fist at you, City of Austin.

Leave a Reply

