Chicken Korma

I was unfamiliar with korma until a little over a year ago. I was going to meet up with a friend for lunch at Hopdoddy because they were having a fundraiser for the Memorial Day floods. Before I left the office, I asked my vegetarian co-worker if she wanted me to grab her a burger as well because I’m that nice. She asked that I get her a veggie korma burger and got super excited about it. I didn’t have time to listen to her explanation (also, I didn’t care. I’m not that nice) and left to meet up with my friend, who was also a vegetarian. As she was going over the menu, she perked up at korma burger so I had to ask, “What is the deal with this korma?!” and she replied “It’s just a vegetarian thing.” I left it at that because vegetarians have their own little world and I get lost every time I try to venture into it. I didn’t become any more familiar with korma after that but it was on my radar and since then, it’s popped up here and there.

When this recipe came up, I knew I had to try it because I wanted to know what the big deal was with korma. Well, veggie friend, it is NOT a vegetarian thing, it’s just a thing that can be vegetarian! Veggies are always trying to claim shit as theirs. If you want a super basic, quick definition of korma, it’s a curry made with yogurt, cream, or milk. It’s actually a bit more than that but that’s the shortest definition. The meat is marinated and braised before it simmers in the dairy, which is what makes it different from rezalas, another white curry. Even then, classifying korma and rezala as curries is a little bit of a stretch but it’s easier to say they’re subgroups of curry in order to avoid getting into a lengthy discussion. We can discuss the complexities of curry some other time, maybe when I don’t have fifteen chores to do before I pick the girls up from school.

The chicken was great, succulent and spicy from the ginger, but the highlight of the meal was making my own garam masala with my new grinder! I always buy it pre-made but now that I have literal pounds of spices and a handy dandy grinder, I can make my own! It made my kitchen smell heavenly and I wanted to keep making more and more but I still have some of the pre-made stuff and, I mean, I didn’t need it. But I can and knowing I can is half the fun.

That was the end of Bangladeshi week. It was probably one of the most informative weeks so far and I think that’s part of what made it so enjoyable. This week we are in Korea and today I spent two hours shopping for groceries. I am really pumped about this week’s foods and can’t wait to share!

Recipe

Leave a Reply

