Mie Goreng

This is my fourth attempt at posting this but Squarespace, or maybe my computer, was being difficult. OVER IT. I also spent an hour and a half driving to New Braunfels today, spending thirty minutes doing what I had to do, and then another hour driving back to Austin so maybe I’m more over that than anything else. Actually, I’m over many things right now. Let me list them so I can get this out of my system:

– searching for a dresser/buffet for the dining area that doesn’t cost over $500.

-this heat that requires me to wake up at six in the morning so I can run.

-my inability to wake up at six a.m. the past two mornings because I haven’t been getting enough sleep.

-the character of Rebecca Bunch on Crazy Ex-girlfriend. She is the worst! I can’t even hate watch the show anymore.

-me whining. I’m over it.

Now that I’ve gotten that out and woo-sawed, let’s talk about this meal! So I actually made it last week. It was really easy to make. The hardest part was mixing all the ingredients together in the wok because the noodles made things a little cumbersome but overall it was pretty quick to put together. The recipe called for Indonesian soy sauce, which is a soy sauce sweetened with palm sugar, but I didn’t have it so I just added some palm sugar to the mix. My noodles were also a little thinner that what I think is typically used but I don’t think it made a huge difference. We all liked it but the baby especially loved the noodles so I was very pleased.

This week is another off week from cooking. A last minute opportunity came up for the almost four year old to have private swim lessons so we’ve taken it and are spending evenings at the pool. It’s not really an off week, I’m still cooking and experimenting, sort of. We had a birthday party last weekend for my mother’s 70th birthday and were left with almost four pounds of sausage. FOUR POUNDS. Dinner for the past two nights has involved sausage and I plan on doing the same for the next two nights because I refuse to just throw all that sausage away. I’ve made very simplified versions of gumbo and jambalaya that turned out surprisingly well. I think I’ll do a stir fry tonight. Or maybe I’ll say the heck with it and get pizza. 

Recipe

Leave a Reply

