Roast Pork with Rice and Peas

I have started this post about six times in the past two weeks and am hoping today is the day I get to finish it! Last week was an off week for cooking and I had hoped to catch up on my posts but one thing after another came up and by the end of it, I just wanted to sit on the sofa and zone out. There were many distractions: kids who wouldn’t nap, my dysfunctional extended family, the Fourth of July holiday, and the disastrous state of race relations in this country.

Of the four, my kids not napping was the only one I was prepared for. The oldest stopped napping a couple of months ago but the baby still takes a two hour nap on the days she’s home with me. Even then, there are days when she decides that napping isn’t necessary until five p.m. so because of that, I don’t make plans to post on Mondays and Fridays, when she’s home from school. So yeah, I am prepared for fussy kids who demand every ounce of my attention. The others? Ugh, life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans, right? I know I say that often but it’s true.

The last one left me especially drained the past three days. I wasn’t directly affected by it but I think that like a lot of people, I’m tired. I’m so tired. I don’t even have the energy to get into how tired.

But this is a food blog, not a place to whine about the things that bug me. That’s what Facebook is for!

This meal totally made up for the not so impressive meals that preceded it. It was another easy meal, didn’t require a ton of attention, and it was very, very palatable. The pork was delectable although a little dry. I keep running into this when roasting pork shoulder so I need to figure out if it’s something I’m doing or just the way the cut itself roasts. I’m thinking it’s something I’m doing because pork shoulder is used for carnitas and carnitas are anything but dry, however, it is roasted in a thick sauce…yeah, something I need to figure out. Yes, I think/type aloud when I post.

The rice? Oooooh, the rice was goooooood! When preparing it, I didn’t even think about how the coconut milk would contribute to the overall flavor so it was a welcomed surprise when I sat down and ate it. If you removed the coconut milk, it was just basic red beans and rice and not even the cool Cajun kind. Like, literally red beans and rice. Ain’t nothing special about that! But adding in that coconut milk just flipped that thing on it’s backside and went to town! It was smooth and buttery and just mm! I was eating leftover for days!

Both girls ate this meal, I think. It was two weeks ago. I’ve had to process a lot mentally in the past two weeks so unless it was a major meltdown or life defining elation, my memory has not made room for it in its vault. I need my memory to make more room for the latter and tell the former that “Sorry, no vacancy.”

Recipe, Recipe

Leave a Reply

