Ropa Vieja

This dish…this dish right here did not work out so well for me.

Ropa vieja means “old clothes.” My interpretation of the name is that old clothes is typically tattered, or “shredded”, like this dish. As you can see from the picture above, mine was not shredded. I don’t really know what I did wrong, I followed the recipe to a T but the meat came out tough and wouldn’t pull apart. The only thing I can think of is that I covered my skillet and the recipe didn’t say anything about that. Though I don’t really think that would hurt it because if anything, putting a lid on it would keep the moisture in.

Balls.

The meal was fine. I made some black beans and rice to go with it and the meat itself was tasty, it just wasn’t shredded and juicy.

This was not a good way to end Cuban week so I might try my hand at this again during an off week. I really do enjoy my off weeks because I get to experiment with things I’ve picked up so far. For instance, I recently made a cilantro cream sauce that was to.die.for. Yes, this project has turned me into not so much a cilantro lover but a cilantro tolerator. That’s a word. But anyway, that was one of my goals for this project: to learn how foods work together. I was already pretty comfortable in the kitchen but I did (do) feel like I still have a lot to learn in putting together a meal. I’m getting there.

Next week we are eating Vietnamese food. I’m going to make so many shrimp spring rolls.

Recipe

Leave a Reply

