Fish Pilaki and Mercimek Koftesi

I’ve noticed that it’s more difficult for me to get motivated to post when the food is less that awesome. Like I know I need to post but I just can’t gather the energy to get my stuff together, login, and do the thing. It almost feels like a chore and no one likes chores. Last week, when the food was spectacular, I was anxious to post and couldn’t wait to share the experience. There were a couple of nights where I wrote the post right after dinner because I wanted to get my thoughts down that quickly. This week? Meh, not so much. I made this meal on Tuesday night and it’s Thursday. Take from that what you will.

That’s not to say the food is bad because it’s far from bad; it’s just not fantastic. I guess this means I can’t expect everything to be life changing, which is something I’ve mentioned before but I guess I keep forgetting to remind myself. I will admit that’s a problem I have in general: expectations. I often times expect too much from people or from situations and end up disappointed. It’s something I’m constantly working on but I guess I need to work harder. Maybe work smarter, not harder? Isn’t that a saying?

The fish was good but it seemed familiar. Tilapia is a versatile fish and easily picks up whatever seasoning you give it so I don’t think the type of fish was the problem. The problem was the preparation. Carrots, potatoes, garlic, and onions aren’t anything special. I think I’ve actually made a slight variation of this meal before so this was just another fish dish to me. The 21 month old LOVED the fish so much she asked for thirds. The 3 year old was less than interested. 

The real surprise was the mercimek koftesi. Like I said before, there’s a reason they are so popular! The 3 year old liked them, although she did say they were spicy. They were a little spicy but nothing overpowering. It definitely livened up the bulgur and lentils because, let’s be honest, on their own, bulgur and lentils are a little boring. They were bean patties but you know how much I love beans so of course I was going to enjoy this! The dip of pomegranate molasses and olive oil was TO DIE FOR! Pomegranate molasses basically taste like thickened pomegranate juice but I love pomegranate juice. I’m glad I bought this condiment because I’m going to find other ways to incorporate it into meals. 

So while the fish was fine, I did honestly love the kofte. They were really easy to make and I think would make a great appetizer. And the American in me just wondered “What if I fried them????”

Recipe

Leave a Reply

