Biber Dolma and Bulgur Wheat Pilaf with Vegetables

We are in Turkey this week! I decided to not buy a cookbook because, well, we settled on Turkey on Sunday night and with Amazon Prime, we wouldn’t get the book until at least Wednesday morning and I do my grocery shopping on Tuesdays. I wasn’t able to find any at our library and I could have requested it from another library but, again, wouldn’t have had it in time for grocery shopping. The internet to the rescue! 

I found lots and lots of “Top Turkish Meals” lists and chose the ones that they all had in common and then started searching for recipes. I found this website, Ozlem’s Turkish Table, and, wow. she is amazing! If you want to read a fantastic food blogger, check her out. If you prefer mediocre (at best) please continue reading me!

This was a good easy meal but it wasn’t anything special. I’ve made stuff peppers before so I knew what to expect in  terms of flavor but I did learn a new way of preparing them. I always made the meat and rice separately and then combined them in the peppers and roasted in the oven. This is a faster method for sure. The bulgur pilaf was really good and buttery. I’ve had bulgur before but this was fluffier and tastier.

I think the part that probably didn’t work for me was all the bell pepper. When I first started cooking regularly, I always used bell peppers. They are really easy to cook with and are a great way to add flavor. We probably ate bell peppers at least twice a week for almost a year so ever since then, I’m not a huge fan. I don’t dislike them but I also don’t seek them out. Probably shouldn’t have chosen such a heavy bell pepper meal BUT the internet wouldn’t shut up about biber dolma so I had to do it. The internet is so pushy.

Recipe

3 thoughts on “Biber Dolma and Bulgur Wheat Pilaf with Vegetables”

  1. The link for the Biber Bolma is not working. If you have the link or recipe will you send it to me? πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‹

    Like

  2. I think this is where I stopped tagging and updating recipes, hehe! It will be up by the end of the week but I’ll text you the link in a bit. Sorry!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

