Poor Man’s Tacu Tacu

This week we’re in Peru! Only one person voted in the poll and they voted for Russian food but we were in the mood for something lighter. Also, I found this great cookbook!

I was at Costco a few weeks ago and saw this gorgeous cookbook on Peruvian cooking. It’s huge and colorful so I was immediately drawn to it! Way to go marketing team! At roughly 430 pages, it’s almost an encyclopedia and I was thiiiiis close to buying it when I saw the price tag. $30. Nope, not gonna happen. I just can’t justify spending that much money on a cookbook, or any book for that matter. Anyway, I was at the library last week and lo and behold, the super pretty cookbook was right there, FOR FREE. Easy decision right there!

The first meal is Poor Man’s Tacu Tacu. In Spanish it’s Tacu Tacu A Lo Pobre. Tacu tacu is apparently a very popular dish in Peru that is made of rice and beans, shaped into a patty, and fried. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before but my favorite food combination is rice and beans. Any kind of rice and beans. I’ll eat them all! So I was pretty excited about this! Also, it’s fried. I love fried food.

This is normally served with fried bananas and a fried egg on top. I didn’t make the egg part because I felt this was going to be more than enough food but I did fry a banana.

THIS WAS AMAZING! The tacu tacu reminded me of Gallo Pinto but tastier! I kept eating the mix when I was preparing it and noticed that it was drier after I fried it but I still loved it. I think it would have benefited from a sauce but that’s about it. The meat was okay, nothing special, but the tacu tacu was fantastic! Even the girls ate it, BOTH OF THEM! I mean, granted the 3 year old smelled it first and said “NO!” but then I told her she could have some ice cream if she took just two bites. Two bites turned into eating the entire serving and her exclaiming “This is good, Mommy!” Success!

Recipe

1 thought on “Poor Man’s Tacu Tacu”

Leave a Reply

