Stir-Fried Beancurd and Beansprouts, Stir-Fried Chayote, and Fried Rice with Peas

Welcome to Myanmar, the Land of the Golden Pagodas! I didn’t research Myanmar and learn this, I got it from the title of my cookbook The Food of Myanmar: Authentic Recipes from the Land of the Golden Pagodas

If you haven’t picked up on this by now, we are trying vastly different cuisines from week to week for no other reason than to give our bodies a break! German week was heavy, lots of creamy sauces and meat, and my body is dying for some veggies that are not covered in butter. I love butter, butter is great, but my heart is begging me to stop.

This meal was quick and didn’t require a lot of prep work; total time, with prep, was maybe an hour. What took the most time was making the rice but the recipe actually called for old rice so if you follow that, you’ll cut your time in half.

It’s not a colorful meal but it made up for it in flavor! It was a little salty but that’s because everything had soy sauce. I really liked the chayote though. It was a little crunchy, don’t know if that’s how it’s supposed to be or if I just didn’t cook it long enough, but it was good. The baby really liked it and preferred it over the rest of the meal. It was a little sweet so I’m sure that’s part of why she liked it. The three year old didn’t touch anything except a few peas and pork. The sprouts and tofu grossed her out and she spent most of dinner talking about how she didn’t like it. I love that she doesn’t have a problem with voicing her opinion but sometimes I wish she’d shut up. I know that’s not nice but luckily she can’t read this so I can say whatever I want. I need to enjoy her illiteracy while I can.

The meal was good and not too complicated. Yesterday didn’t go as I had expected so I was a little frazzled. I had planned my day to where I’d have an hour or two to just relax but that didn’t happen and I ended up driving all over Austin unexpectedly. I wasn’t really looking forward to cooking but luckily this was an easy meal and I was still able to talk to my husband and kiddos while cooking. Sometimes the recipes are so involved that I have to focus, which takes time away from catching up with the husband when he gets home from work. Those are my least favorite recipes but this one allowed us to be a family and for that I’m grateful.

Wow, that was so emo! *flips bangs*

Recipe

2 thoughts on “Stir-Fried Beancurd and Beansprouts, Stir-Fried Chayote, and Fried Rice with Peas”

  1. Thanks for sharing it~ I would love to try "Stir-Fried Beancurd and Beansprouts" I love that you mentioned about how your daughters react (?)to the new foods~☆

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing it~ I would love to try "Stir-Fried Beancurd and Beansprouts" I love that you mentioned about how your daughters react (?)to the new foods~☆

    Like

Leave a Reply

