Smoked Pork Chops with Spiced Red Cabbage, Spatzle, and Black Forest Cherry Cake

So based on the title of this post, you can tell I was a little ambitious with this meal. This was our second German meal for the week but it should have been our third. My husband, James, prepared the first meal and will be posting about it someday and I was too tired the second day to cook. Our oldest came home early from school with a fever, which required a doctor’s appointment, and after doing all that I was beat. I can’t even remember what we ate that night.. For this meal, we had dinner guests so I kinda went a little crazy with the cooking.

What I learned from this meal and throughout the rest of the week is that German food isn’t as labor intensive as the others. The food looks a lot more complicated than it actually is. That’s not to say I still didn’t mess up, I totally did, but it still worked out well.

I also didn’t take many pics. The oldest kiddo was home because she still had a slight fever from the day before and like a good mother, I put her to work in the kitchen. What’s that saying? Feed a cold, make your slightly feverish three year old work in the kitchen since it’s better than allowing her brain to turn to mush by watching cartoons all day? I think I saw that on a t-shirt once.

Oh hey, what do you know? My husband did take a pic of the chops before they went into the oven. Teamwork!

I was like “It’ll be fine, it’ll be fine!” It was not fine. You see that hump? Well, when I turned it out, it turned out it was concave. Yep, I had a chocolate cake bowl. So I did what any normal person would do: I filled it with cherries and whipped cream. Success! I am not good at baking, obviously.

Aside from that pretty big hiccup, the meal was fantastic! The spaztle had a nutty taste, due to the sesame oil, and I think I’ll continue making it that way. The pork chops and sauce were super yummy! The sauce thickened a little too much but I still enjoyed it. The cabbage was also really good and I just remembered that I had some the next day and it was even better then. Maybe that’s why you should let it sit a day…my cake turned into one big brownie and that’s never a bad thing.

Recipe

Leave a Reply

