Spice Roasted Cornish Hen with Spiced Potato Momos and Veggie Patties

I want to start off by saying this meal was rough and eye opening. The day before I had to go to my hometown and without getting too into it, it was a horrible experience. So bad that I was still mentally and physically recovering from it the next day. Actually I’m still trying to get over it. Needless to say, I was not in a good mood but I wanted to continue with my little project so I forced myself into the kitchen.

I could not get into it and it wasn’t until the end of the day that I realized just how therapeutic cooking is for me. Like I’ve said, I know my way around a kitchen. Even before this started, even before I became a Stay at Home Mom, I made dinner four to five days a week and I’ve always enjoyed it. Chopping up veggies is like meditation to me and in a weird way, it’s how I relax. It’s hard to do that when your mind is racing and it was not good.

My momos were crap, too. Sorry, I’m getting grumpy just remembering it. Basically I was in the kitchen for over two hours and my entire meal didn’t turn out the way it was supposed to. With the exception of the frozen birds, I don’t know what I did wrong, but it did not help my mood. I was very frustrated and angry and I probably even cried a bit. I think part of it was the kitchen failure and part of it was whatever was on my mind but overall, not a good experience.

This recipe will still make my life story, though, but just for the revelation that I cook as a release but not everything can be released. Sometimes things just need to sit and fester and figure themselves out. Festering thoughts are the best!

Also, the veggie stir fry was good but the rest of the food was blah. I’m pretty sure my bad juju seeped itself into my food.

Recipe

Leave a Reply

