Chicken Sekuwa and Black Eyed Pea Curry

Sorry for the lack of updates, the past week has been a little crazy. I don’t know who I’m talking to, I literally have one follower (Hi Andrew!).

After Finnish week, I was really looking forward to Nepali week. I don’t mean to offend any Finnish people that might be reading this and I sincerely apologize if I do, but I was a little underwhelmed with the food. Like I said in my last post, I know there are better meals out there (really want to try some Karelian Pastries) and I’m not entirely done with the Finnish cuisine, I definitely plan on revisiting it someday, but this experience didn’t leave the greatest taste in my mouth. So yeah, was into trying Nepali food.

I bought The Taste of Nepal by Jyoti Pathak from Amazon. It got good reviews, it didn’t cost a thousand dollars, and it claimed to be a good combination of traditional and homemade recipes.

The first meal I made was Chicken Sekuwa and Black Eyed Pea Curry. So, side note, shopping for groceries for the week was enlightening and very affordable; I spent a total of $70 on groceries for the four meals. Se-ven-ty do-llars. By comparison, Finnish week costs me roughly $140 and I didn’t get a year’s worth of beans with those $140 like I did with these groceries. Seriously, I bought like eight pounds of beans. I’m good for, like, forever.

The finished meal. Oh-my-gawd was this good!

The meat was beyond tasty and tender. It was a tangy due to the onion and yogurt but oh so good. Those onions I kept going on and on about? UUUHH, my mouth is watering just thinking about it. I was worried because they were raw and raw onions mean my chest will be on fire but the lemons softened them to where they just melted in my mouth. And even though I knew what could possibly happen, I still ate like six of them. By the way, no heartburn. None. It was magic! The curry was spectacular! Who knew black eyed peas could be so fantastic? That asafetida ruined the scent of my house but turned those boring beans into one of my favorite dishes ever.

So yeah, this meal was aight.

Recipe

1 thought on “Chicken Sekuwa and Black Eyed Pea Curry”

  1. Best Nepali meal, although all were very good. Still don't understand how we didn't get heartburn with the onions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

