Aune’s Pork Casserole

This dish is named after Aune Merikallio, a Finnish home economist. I guess she lent her recipe to the author for his book. I couldn’t find anything about her on the internet so there’s not much of a story there. Sorry.

This did not feel like a casserole to me, it was more of a roast, but maybe casserole is Finnish for roast? I dunno, just not very casserole-y (that’s a word!) to me.

I just Googled “casserole” and the definition is “a kind of stew or side dish that is cooked slowly in an oven”  And a “roast” is “a cut of meat that has been roasted or is intended for roasting” but “roast” as a verb is “to cook by prolonged exposure to heat in an oven or over a fire.” Well, there you go. It is both a roast and a casserole. Boom! English lesson!

The pork was kinda dry. Maybe it would have turned out a little juicier had I put the meat directly on the veggies…The flavor was great though. A little on the spicy side but still tasty. Both my husband and I enjoyed how the apples made the sauerkraut less bitter. I’m not a huge fan of sauerkraut so this was an appreciated take on it. The mushrooms were amazing! I also love sour cream so that might have had something to do with it. As good as they were, they were very heavy. I hadn’t eaten lunch that day so I was starving and had two large servings. I was pretty miserable afterwards.

The baby also really enjoyed the mushrooms; the three year old not so much. And I know I mention how she doesn’t eat most, if not all, of my dinners but I promise you, the kid is healthy! She does eat breakfast and lunch so that makes up fornot eating a big dinner. She did eat some pork though so that was good.

If I make this again, I won’t add the potatoes because I don’t feel they really contributed all that much and I will put the meat directly on the veggies. Definitely making the mushrooms again, I just won’t eat so much next time.

Recipe

Leave a comment